FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT THE RULES
What happens when the challenge cards run out?
In the (rare) situation when all 8 challenge cards have been taken in the one round then the player who loses the challenge chooses one of their cards in hand and discards it to their face down negative pile. They do not draw a replacement.
What happens when a player accidentally draws too many cards?
If the player has seen it don’t worry about it. The player keeps the card and plays as per normal. If the player hasn’t seen it then put it back on the top of the letter card deck.
What happens when a player drops a card from their hand?
They pick it up back to their hand, and play at a disadvantage if any opponent saw it. If you lead it might be good to play with the letter you dropped.
What happens when a player has only a hand of consonants or only a hand of vowels?
Keep playing. There are no bad hands in Kiitos, just problems to dig yourself out of. Whatever you do, don’t tell your opponent that you may have no vowels. A good player will use that information to their own advantage.
What happens when a word gets annoying?
If your opponent keeps on playing the same annoying word, for instance KVETCH, or JNANA, then use it against them. Also sometimes it won’t work, because you will have a letter to continue it, which they didn’t expect. Truly if a word (or a player) gets annoying playing the same word then make a list of banned words and put the annoying word on the list by mutual agreement.
Do I have to challenge a dubious word?
No. You may choose to just play on because you have the next letter, or you can change the target word. Once a letter has been played on it, the opportunity to challenge that word is lost.
Is making up a word cheating?
No, but it might not survive a challenge. When making up a word, play it with confidence. Getting a made up word past an opponent is fun. The only cheating in Kiitos is not playing the next letter of the target word when you have the next letter.
I can’t follow, I could change the word, but I don’t want to. Do I have to play another letter and change the word?
No, but you probably would want to play another letter and change the word. There might be a reason to not want to, and you don’t have to.
I got a dubious word past my opponent, they didn’t challenge, but now they have changed the target word by pluralising it. May I challenge it?
Yes. That’s always fun.